Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Government Information by Topic (Part 2)

Provides access to the host of resources provided by the federal and state governments

Foreign Relations

Department of State Foreign Affairs Network (DOSFAN) Collection

The DOSFAN site provides access to electronically-archived information products produced by the U.S. Department of State from 1990 through 1997 and includes archived websites of the U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency and the U.S. Information Agency.

Historical Documents by President

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Search within the volumes, or browse them by administration.

Foreign Relations of the United States

Housed by the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Digital scans of the Foreign Relations of the United States from 1861–1960.

Treaties in Force

Prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party.

World Fact Book

Compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency, this document provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Historic Documents

The American Presidency Project

The Public Papers of the Presidents contain most of the President's public messages, statements, speeches, and news conference remarks.

Answering the Call: World War I Posters

Browse this unique collection of historic posters created by federal agencies during World War I. Provided by the ISU Milner Library.

CyberCemetery

An archive of defunct U.S. government websites and agencies. Provided by University of North Texas Libraries.

Featured Historic Publications

View the featured historic federal publications from the FDLP.

Historical Publications of the US Commission on Civil Rights

Browse this extensive electronic collection of historic and current publications from the US Commission on Civil Rights. Hosted by the University of Maryland School of Law Thurgood Marshall Library.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Browse through the digital collections of the Library of Congress.

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications

Although no longer published, HathiTrust Digital Library contains full-text scans of the many volumes of the catalog beginning in 1895, along with some supplements and indexes. These can be used to find the citations to Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and more.

Partnerships with the U.S. Government Publishing Office

Find projects or collections of government information at particular federal agencies or federal depository libraries.

Natural Resources

Central Midwest Water Science Center of the U.S. Geological Service

Contains links to water data, publications, hydrological investigations, and more.

Fuel Economy Guide

The US Department of Energy provides estimates for gas mileage and annual fuel costs for new and used passenger vehicles back to 1984. Tools for consumers include fuel and trip cost calculators, side-by-side comparisons, and a locator for alternative fuels.

Missouri Soil Surveys

See current and past soil surveys dating back to 1899 for Missouri counties. The Missouri State Library also has more than 100 old soil surveys available in paper.

National Map Viewer from the USGS

Download or view interactive maps of the United States.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Find scientific publications, data sets and reports on a wide variety of topics related to renewable energy and energy markets.

National Resources Conservation Service — Missouri

NRCS in Missouri is designed for customer service and field office support. There are 100 field offices and technical offices serving 114 counties. These offices support soil survey, watershed projects, water quality, outreach, resource conservation and development, and plant materials.

U.S. Geological Survey

The USGS collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. Click Missouri on the map to see USGS information about our state.

Science & Weather Resources

National Centers for Environmental Information

Find reports and datasets about the climate in the United States and around the world.

The National Map

An interactive topographical map continually updated and maintained by the US Geological Survey. Use the "Add Data" tool to display geologic features, landmarks, and even current weather patterns. To learn more about using this tool, check out their Training videos page.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Find information and resources about the weather, climate and environment.

Office of Scientific and Technical Information

Science, technology and engineering research from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Science.gov

Search over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies of authoritative U.S. government science information.

Space

Black Marble

This tool provides night-time image data for a wide variety of research applications.

NASA

Find information, photos, reports and more from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

NASA Missions A-Z

Provides links to information on all of NASA's space flight and satellite projects.

NASA Technical Reports Server

NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program provides reports on aerospace research and development.

Worldwide Space Agencies

Links to other national space agencies around the globe.

Veterans & Military

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Visit the VA website to access and manage VA benefits and health care.

Veterans' Employment and Training Service (VETS)

The VETS program through the United States Department of Labor has information and resources for veterans.