Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Commonly Requested U.S. Laws and Regulations
Check this list for links to agency sites on popular legal topics. Where no federal law exists, sites offer compilations of state laws on a topic.
Public laws compiled under their short names. Not to be used as official documents or cited as evidence of law.
Statutes at Large, 1789-1875
Volumes 1 - 18 available through the Library of Congress's American Memory Project.
Statutes at Large, 1789-2007
Digitized collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress from 1845-2007. Available through HathiTrust.
Statutes at Large, 1951-2013
Digitized collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress from 1951-2012.
United States Code, 1994-2019
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.This is the official bound version provided on govinfo.
United States Code, Current
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
Committee on Oversight & Government Reform
Visit the United States House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform for information on federal government oversight and whistle blowing.
Copyright Office of the United States
Search Copyright Public Records Catalog online, read the Fair Use Index, review copyright guidance and find archives of briefs and legal opinions.
Government Accountability Office
From the web site: "The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars." Search for reports by keyword or report number.
Inspector General Reports
Oversight.gov is a publicly accessible, searchable website containing the latest public reports from Federal Inspectors General who are members of the Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency (CIGIE).
Code of Federal Regulations
The currently updated version of the CFR but is not an official legal edition of the CFR.
Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition), 1996-current
The CFR is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published by the executive departments and agencies of the U.S. federal government. They first appear in the "Federal Register." This link contains the annual editions from 1996 to current.
Today's Federal Register
View the latest edition of the Federal Register.
Federal Register, 1936-current
The Federal Register is the official journal of the U.S. federal government and contains most routine publications and public notices of government agencies. It is published every day except holidays and weekends. This link contains the Federal Register from 1936 to the current edition. For current and up-to-date information, visit: https://www.federalregister.gov/.
CFR Index and Finding Aids
The CFR Index and Finding Aids volume is revised once a year as of January 1. It contains: A subject/agency index for rules currently codified in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR); a list of agency-prepared indexes appearing in individual CFR volumes; a table of laws and Presidential documents cited as authority for regulations currently codified in the CFR; a list of CFR titles, chapters, subchapters, and parts; an alphabetical list of agencies appearing in the CFR.
CFR Parts Affected from the Federal Register
Users are able to browse CFR Parts Affected from the Federal Register to find final and proposed rules that affect the CFR and have been published in the Federal Register within the past 24 hours, week, month, or within a specific date range.
List of CFR Sections Affected
The List of CFR Sections Affected lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title.
An online source for U.S. government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies. It also allows for public commenting on individual regulations.
OSHA Law & Regulations
Find current OSHA standards, Federal Register notices, the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 and other relevant laws and regulations.
EPA Laws & Regulations
Find relevant environmental laws and regulations by topic.
Banking Laws and Legislation
A collection of various laws and pieces of legislation related to banking in the United States.