Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Legislative Branch

Provides access to the host of resources provided by the federal and state governments

Congress

Congress.gov

Legislative information from the United States Congress. Search for current bills and other legislation (1973–present).

Congressional Record

The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Online version goes back to 1994.

Congressional Record Index

This is the index to the "Congressional Record" and is published biweekly when Congress is in session. According to the web site: "The CRI consists of two parts: the index proper, which lists individuals, organizations, and topics mentioned in the Congressional Record, and the History of Bills, which lists legislative actions reported in the Congressional Record. The History of Bills is maintained as a separate database on GPO Access. " Covers 1983 to the present.

Congressional Record (Bound Edition)

The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. At the end of each session of Congress, all of the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into a permanent, bound edition. This permanent edition, referred to as the Congressional Record (Bound Edition), is made up of one volume per session of Congress, with each volume published in multiple parts, each part containing approximately 10 to 20 days of Congressional proceedings.

House of Representatives

Find legislative activity, house leadership, committee assignments and work, and visitor information.

Senate

Find information on senators, committees, pending legislation, floor activity, and visitor information.

Congressional Hearings

Contains select House and Senate hearings for the 85th Congress (1957–1958) forward, but not all congressional hearings are available.

Congressional Directory

Covers current Congress back to 105th (1997–98); contains short biographies of members including committees, terms of service, and contact information plus much more.

Congressional Pictorial Directory (105th–116th Congress)

Contains pictures of all members and delegates of the 105th Congress through the 116th Congress.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774–2005

Also known as House Document No. 108-222.

Member Guide for the 116th Congress

An online guide of members from the U.S. House and Senate.

Legislation

History of Bills

Lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the "Congressional Record" from 1983 to the present.

How Our Laws Are Made

Detailed report on the process of federal lawmaking by the Parliamentarian of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

July 26, 1990, President George H. W. Bush signed into law the Americans with Disabilities Act which was the first comprehensive civil rights law addressing the needs of people with disabilities.

Civil Rights Act of 1964

President Johnson signed the July 2,1964, Civil Rights Act into law prohibiting segregation and discrimination regarding schools, public places and activities, and employment practices. GPO employees produced the original document 50 years ago.

Medicare Law of 1965

On July 30, 1965, President Johnson signed the Medicare Law as part of the Social Security Act Amendments. This established both Medicare, the health insurance program for Americans over 65, and Medicaid, the health insurance program for low-income Americans.

U.S. Constitution, Article i

Article I

The Legislative Branch powers and responsibilities are outlined in Article I of the United States Constitution.

Amendment XIV

Article I, Section 2, of the Constitution was modified by Section 2 of the 14th Amendment.

Amendment XVI

Article I, Section 9, of the Constitution was modified by the 16th Amendment.

Amendment XX

Article I, Section 4, of the Constitution was modified by Section 2 of the 20th Amendment.