Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Government Information by Topic (Part 1)

Provides access to the host of resources provided by the federal and state governments

Economy

County Business Patterns

"An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll." Usually two years behind, the 2016 data was released in April of 2018. The 2017 data will be released in Fall of 2019. Click on the "Data" tab to see the County Business Patterns.

Economic Indicators (1995–present)

Prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee, it provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. Online version goes back to 1995.

Economic Indicators in HathiTrust (1948–2014)

Prepared for the Joint Committee on the Economic Report by the Council of Economic Advisers.

Economic Report of the President

An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress and is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government.

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®)

The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is an open archive of current and historical economic statistical publications and data administered by St. Louis’ Center for Economic Documents Digitization (CEDD) and the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Foreign Exchange Rates (Weekly)

From the Federal Reserve.

HUD User

The HUD User portal allows users to explore reports, research, datasets related to housing, community development, market conditions, and more. Hosted by the Office of Policy Development and Research of the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Investor.gov

Resources and tools to aid and inform investors. Provided by the US Securities and Exchange Commission.

National Information Center (NIC)

Use this search tool to look up bank and financial institution information, history, active status, mergers, and more.

North American Industry Classification System

This is the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Prices and Wages by Decade

This guide from the University of Missouri provides links to federal documents detailing the retail prices for common items from the 1700s to present.

USA Trade Online

The official source for U.S. merchandise trade data.

US Exports

Find information to help U.S. companies export.

For Help from the U.S. Government

Benefits.gov

Search or browse for government benefits you may be eligible to receive.

DisasterAssistance.gov

Find or apply for disaster recovery assistance online.

Farmers.gov

Find USDA disaster assistance programs specifically for farmers and other agricultural workers.

Federal Contract Opportunities

Search thousands of opportunities for buyers, engineers, vendors or citizens.Find people who make, receive, and manage federal awards.

FEMA.gov

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) helps prepare for, prevent, respond to and recover from disasters.

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)

Find application information for the FAFSA.

Grants.gov

Find and apply for federal grants.

Natural Disasters Resources

Find resources and information from the federal government about natural disasters.

Social Security Handbook

The handbook is from 2001 but parts of it have been updated as changes occur.

System for Award Management (SAM.gov)

(Formerly the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance, or Assistance Listings) SAM lists all federal programs available to state and local governments (including the District of Columbia), federally-recognized Indian tribal governments, territories (and possessions) of the United States, domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions, specialized groups, and individuals.

Disability Services

Disability Benefits from the Social Security Administration

Find more information about the disability benefits that the Social Security Administration provides to people who can't work due to a medical condition.

National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped

NLS is a free braille and talking book library service for people with temporary or permanent low vision, blindness, or a physical disability that prevents them from reading or holding the printed page. Through a national network of cooperating libraries, NLS offers books the way you want them: in braille or audio, mailed to your door for free or instantly downloadable.