Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Census Data and Statistics

Provides access to the host of resources provided by the federal and state governments

Need Numbers?

Do you need to add some numbers to your paper or presentation to make it perfect? Look through the links on this page and you might find the exact statistics that will help take your project over the top!

Government Data

Census Data

 New  The US Census Bureau's new data exploration tool offers area profiles, tables, maps, QuickFacts, and a variety of visualization tools.

Census of Governments

The Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment.

Data.gov

Gives public access to high value data sets generated by the federal government.

Agriculture

National Agricultural Statistics Service - Missouri

Find up-to-date agricultural statistics for Missouri from the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Includes the most recent Census of Agriculture for Missouri.

Crop Insurance Profiles

Find FAQs, Fact Sheets and Insurance Profiles for the State of Missouri from the US Department of Agriculture.

Census of Agriculture

View current data by Congressional district, race, ethnicity, gender, state, county, and zip code. Historical censuses are available back to 1840.

Centers for Disease Control

CDC Data & Statistics

View reports by state for various health topics.

Vital Statistics of the United States

From the web site: "Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. These reports are available for download or as bound volumes in many large public and university libraries. Technical details about the data are presented in the Technical Appendix section of Vital Statistics of the United States and as a separate document after 1993 for mortality data." Covers data from 1890-2003.

Crime & Justice

FBI Crime Statistics

Uniform Crime Reporting from the FBI: Publications include Crime in the U.S., Hate Crime Statistics, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Bank Crime Reports, and more all spanning several years.

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Part of the Dept. of Justice, the Bureau collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government

CrimeSolutions.gov

Produced by the Office of Justice Programs, this site "uses rigorous research to inform practitioners and policy makers about what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services." Programs are rated "Effective," "Promising," and "No Effects."

Transportation

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Find transportation statistics from the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Census

Explore Census Data

A great source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Census Bureau.

Census Bureau

Contains 2010 and previous Census information and data.

Census Publications

 New  Publications, briefs and reports from the Census Bureau, searchable by decade and topic.

Decennial Censuses of Population and Housing

Covers decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010, including publications up to the year 2014. For later publications, see Census Publications.

Missouri Census Data Center

Popular  The Missouri Census Data Center is a Premier Local Partner of the U.S. Census Bureau and a sponsored program of the Missouri State Library. Official source for U.S. Census data for the state of Missouri.

My Congressional District

My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP).

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. No longer published by the U.S. Census Bureau, 1878 - 2012 editions are available online.

MU Libraries Census Data Guide

Guide to statistical information collected by the U.S. Census Bureau compiled by librarians at the University of Missouri.

Forum on Child and Family Statistics

Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics is comprised of 23 federal agencies involved in children and family statistics.

GEOFRED

Create, customize and share geographical maps of data found in the FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) database.

Economic

FRED Economic Data

Search, download, graph and track economic research data from the Federal Reserve.

Foreign Trade Data

New  Census data on US foreign trade.

Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Part of the Dept. of Labor, the Bureau analyzes, publishes, and disseminates many statistics on the U.S. labor market including employment, unemployment, Consumer Price Index, earnings, inflation, productivity, pay and benefits, and much more.

Career Outlook

This is the former site of the Occupational Outlook Quarterly; issues are still available back to 1999 in the Archives link. From the web site: "Career Outlook has articles on a variety of topics — including career fields, career planning, education and training, pay and benefits, and more."

Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey

Conducted by the Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this survey "provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics."

Non-employer Statistics

"Nonemployer Statistics is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for businesses that have no paid employees and are subject to federal income tax. The data consist of the number of businesses and total receipts by industry. Most nonemployers are self-employed individuals operating unincorporated businesses (known as sole proprietorships), which may or may not be the owner's principal source of income.... The Nonemployers Statistics series is the primary resource available to study the scope and activities of nonemployers at a detailed geographic level."

Occupational Outlook Handbook

This is a nationally recognized source of career information by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and is designed to provide assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.