Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Executive Branch

Provides access to the host of resources provided by the federal and state governments

Presidential Documents

Compilation of Presidential Documents

Official publications of material released by the White House Press Secretary.

Economic Report of the President

An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress and is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. 

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States

Contains the Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature by former U.S. presidents, back to Herbert Hoover.

List of Presidents

Learn more about each United States President.

U.S. Constitution, Article II

Article II

The Executive Branch powers and responsibilities are outlined in Article II of the United States Constitution.

Amendment XII

A portion of Article II, section 1 was amended by the 12th Amendment. It was ratified on June 15, 1804.

Amendment XX

Section 3 of the 20th Amendment supersedes a portion of the 12th Amendment. It was ratified on January 23, 1933.

Amendment XXV

Article II, section 1 was affected by the 25th Amendment. It was ratified on February 10, 1967.

U.S. Government Budget, Fiscal Year 2022

Budget of the U.S. Government

Contains links from Fiscal Year 2022 to FY 1996.

Analytical Perspectives

Contains analyses that are designed to highlight specified subject areas or provide other significant presentations of budget data that place the budget in perspective. This volume includes economic and accounting analyses; information on Federal receipts and collections; analyses of Federal spending; information on Federal borrowing and debt; baseline or current services estimates; and other technical presentations.

Appendix

Contains detailed information on the various appropriations and funds that constitute the budget and is designed primarily for the use of the Appropriations Committees. The Appendix contains more detailed financial information on individual programs and appropriation accounts than any of the other budget documents. It includes for each agency: the proposed text of appropriations language; budget schedules for each account; legislative proposals; narrative explanations of each budget account; and proposed general provisions applicable to the appropriations of entire agencies or group of agencies. Information is also provided on certain activities whose transactions are not part of the budget totals.

Historical Tables

Provide a wide range of data on Federal Government finances. Many of the data series begin in 1940 and include estimates of the President’s Budget for 2019–2024. Additionally, Table 1.1 provides data on receipts, outlays, and surpluses or deficits for 1901–1939 and for earlier multiyear periods.