Anthropology: Open Educational Resources

The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects. The recordings include speech samples, linguistic interviews, oral histories, conversations, and excerpts from public speeches.

Full text journals and monographs produced by the Department of Anthropology at UC Berkeley together with searchable citations and links to anthropological works in all formats created by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists. Included are books, journal articles, book chapters, reference entries, book reviews, oral histories, obituaries, and some gray literature, as well as images, sound recordings and audio-visual materials.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Exhibitions are designed to tell stories of national significance using source materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.

An introduction to studying archaeology, exploring exciting discoveries in the Vale of Pewsey, near Stonehenge and Avebury or Learn how ancient artifacts, written evidence, excavation and digital technologies are transforming understanding of this harbor.

Discover the study of languages - learn how language is formed and used with these online linguistics courses on FutureLearn.

Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, curated by Google Cultural Institute.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.

Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed Original, TED Talk or YouTube Video.

For several years the American Folklife Center (AFC) has provided training in documentation methods and ethnographic field research principles through field schools that may last up to three weeks in length and also through workshops of shorter duration.

The Archaeology Channel (TAC) is a streaming media website brought to you by Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI). ALI is a nonprofit organization devoted to nurturing and bringing attention to the human cultural heritage, by using media in the most efficient and effective ways possible.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. An interactive site that saves individual progress.

The National Geographic online website and resource.

Browse topics such as, Applied Linguistics, Biology of Language, Cognitive Science
Computational Linguistics, and Historical Linguistics.

Browse and search artifacts by types such as building, coin, gem, sculpture, site, and vase.

This list contains but a small sampling of the nineteenth and early twentieth-century anthropological writings by ethnologists and other scholars.

Project Gutenberg's list of Archaeology books in the public domain, available freely online.

Links to collections and archives, online databases, online exhibits, and more from the Smithsonian Institution.

The Society for Applied Anthropology (SfAA) was founded in 1941 to promote the investigation of the principles of human behavior and the application of these principles to contemporary issues and problems.

The Society of Linguistic Anthropology is devoted to exploring and understanding the ways in which language shapes, and is shaped by, social life, from face-to-face interaction to global-level phenomena.

The Society for Visual Anthropology promotes the use of images for the description, analysis, communication and interpretation of human [and sometimes nonhuman) behavior. Members have interests in all visual aspects of culture, including art, architecture and material artifacts, as well as kinesics, proxemics and related forms of body motion communication.

These case studies can be relevant to the Anthropology field and include titles such as, Ethnobotany and Indigenous Food Sovereignty. The Centre for Sustainable Food Systems Teaching & learning team works in collaboration with instructors and students throughout UBC to develop open educational resources, including “case studies” that can be adapted to any discipline, by anyone at UBC or elsewhere.

Open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals, books and data.

Hosted by the Wikimedia foundation, Wikibooks is an open content textbook collection spanning a variety of reading levels and disciplines.