LibGuides: Anthropology: Additional Tips &amp; Useful Resources

Data and Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States The Statistical Abstract serves as the official federal summary of statistics and provides over 1,400 tables of benchmark measures on the demographic, housing, social, political, and economic condition of the United States.
The World Factbook The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Data.Gov Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
General Social Survey (GSS) The General Social Survey (GSS) provides politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

Incredibly Useful Resources

National Museum of African American History and Culture

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences Summer Research Initiative The program is designed to encourage and enhance the diversity of scholars working in the social and behavioral science fields. In that spirit, we are interested in receiving applications from a broad spectrum of students, including African Americans, Latino/Hispanics, American Indian/Alaskan Natives, Native Hawaiians or other Pacific Islanders, as well as students with research interests related to diverse communities.
GeoCorps America GeoCorps America provides geoscientists with temporary volunteer projects on America's public lands. The program fills a need for more geoscientists to be working on research and education at these public spaces through partnerships with the Bureau of Land Management and the U.S. Forest Service.
Geological Society of America GeoCorps America provides geoscientists with temporary volunteer projects on America's public lands. The program fills a need for more geoscientists to be working on research and education at these public spaces through partnerships with the Bureau of Land Management and the U.S. Forest Service.
MIT Summer Research Program (MSRP) This program's goal is to increase the number of underrepresented minorities and underserved (e.g. low socio-economic background, first generation) students in the research enterprise.
Natural History Research Experience (NHRE) NHRE summer internships pair undergraduates with museum scientists to complete a research project in Anthropology, Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology, Mineral Science, Paleobiology, Vertebrate Zoology, or Museum Education.
NSF REU/RET Site: Preparing the Next Generation of Scholars through Community Geographic Information Systems and Citizen Science The REU/RET Site at University of Central Florida, in partnership with George Mason University and the Smithsonian Caribbean Coral Reef Ecosystems Program, provides intensive, community-based research experiences for 24 undergraduate students and 6 K-12 educators with a focus on developing new researchers and educators from underrepresented groups.
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Animal Behavior This program invites ten talented undergraduates to Bloomington, Indiana to work with IU faculty on individualized research projects in animal behavior that involve neuroscience, cognitive science, and molecular approaches as well as traditional fieldwork and behavioral analysis.
Student Summer Internship (SSI) Program Offers summer internships for Native American and other college students with funding from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA). This program provides the opportunity for students to gain hands-on skills with EPA or other governmental and tribal environmental offices.
Summer Research Opportunities Program The University of Illinois in Chicago and at Urbana-Champaign (Illinois) offers summer research programs that provide undergraduate students from populations underrepresented in graduate study at Illinois with an opportunity to explore careers in research.
Summer Systematics Institute (SSI) REU SSI is a nine-week paid research internship at our state-of-the-art research facility and museum in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park.
Summer Undergraduate Minority Research Program in Health Provides underrepresented minority undergraduate students, or anyone who is interested in an opportunity to explore the exciting field of health services research.
Undergraduate Complexity Research Focusing on the computational and mathematical modeling of complex systems, the Santa Fe Institute’s Edward A. Knapp Undergraduate Fellowship (previously known as the Research Experiences for Undergraduates program) uses an integrated approach to train aspiring scientists to gain quantitative insights into complex systems.

There are many more internship opportunities available. See IBP, www.pathwaystoscience.org.

Searching Tips

Keywords are...

A good way to start a search.
The important concepts in your own words.
Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
Very flexible.

Connecting concepts...

Join similar ideas or alternate term with "OR."
Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
Exclude concepts with "NOT."

Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly articles...

This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals.
Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.

Narrow the Date Range...

When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.

Still not finding anything? Contact a Librarian!

Anthropology: Additional Tips & Useful Resources

Data and Statistics

Incredibly Useful Resources

Searching Tips

LINCOLN UNIVERSITY

PROUD PAST, PROGRESSIVE FUTURE