LibGuides: Lincoln University Archives and Ethnic Studies Center: Collections and Finding Aids

The Vertical Files

Vertical Files are a collection of material such as news clippings, booklets, pictures, pamphlets and other grey literature, created and maintained by libraries and other organizations. The materials are typically loose, separate pieces organized in folders and arranged by subject. Vertical files are used as ready reference material to supplement other collections on topics not easily covered by conventional material such as books.The name comes from the fact that these collections are often stored in the vertical style of filing cabinets (as opposed to the lateral).

The Archives/Ethnic Studies center has two Vertical File collections:

Lincoln University Vertical Files

LU Vertical Files

2. Ethnic Studies Vertical Files

ES Vertical Files

LU Archives

Art Collection

Page Library and, more directly, the Lincoln University Archives has a unique collection of artwork originating from a wide variety of sources. We welcome patrons to come and browse the collection during Archives hours.

Below is a listing of the works cotained in our gallery.

Artwork

The Collection

The Archives/Ethnic Studies Center contains the Lincoln Collection consisting of three components,

The Lincoln University Record Collection (LURC) contains documents, records, personal papers, and artifacts related to the history of the institution. Included in this collection are official University publications and personal collections of faculty, staff and alumni.

LURC

2. The Lincoln University Photograph Collection (LUPC) is comprised of photographic images depicting the history and heritage of the institution.These images, originating from several sources, are organized into academic, extracurricular and institutional categories.

LUPC

3. The University Relations Photograph Collection (URPC) - this collection contains content similar to the LUPC, with the images originating exclusively from the public relations office of the University.

URPC

Online Collections

1934-1975 Clarion Newspaper
Published weekly during the fall and spring semesters, the Lincoln Clarion is the student newspaper of Lincoln University in Jefferson City, Missouri.
This online version is provided by the State Historical Society of Missouri.

Lincoln Yearbooks 1915-1975
The Lincoln University yearbook was titled Secunda Lux Seniorum in 1915, The Quill from 1924-1930, the Collegian in 1936, and Archives from 1937 onward. Publication of the yearbook was suspended from 1943-1948 due to World War II and the budget cuts caused by the conflict. Yearbooks in this collection include the 1915 edition, 1924–1930 and 1936–1975. Volumes from 1976 onward can be found at the Lincoln University Library Archives. This online version is provided by the Missouri Secretary of State Missouri Digital Heritage program.

The Vault

Finding Aids

Finding aids are tools that help a user find information in a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials. Examples of finding aids include published and unpublished inventories, container and folder lists, card catalogs, calendars, indexes, registers, and institutional guides.(US National Archives)

University Bulletins List
Lincoln bulletins from 1871 to present including Undergraduate, Graduate, Summer, School of Law, School of Journalism, ROTC, Alumni, and special editions of the publication. These bulletins are available in the Archives office. They will soon be available in digital format.
Lincoln University Clarion
Begun in 1932, the student newspaper of the university, now in an online format, is a proud tradition for the Lincoln community. This list includes all available issues up to 2013. These issues are available at the Archives office. A digital collection of the Clarion can be accessed in the Online Collection to the left.
Lincoln University Yearbooks
The first yearbook for Lincoln was printed in 1914. It has been a tradition on campus for many years. Several gaps in publication can be attributed to World War 1, the Great Depression, World War II, and financial difficulty. The Archives maintains a physical collection in its offices with copies of many years for purchase. A digital collection can be accessed in the Online Collection to the left.
Historic African-American Newspapers
We have a large collection historic African-American newspapers including the St. Louis Argus,
Kansas City Call and other leading publications available on microfilm.

The Moses of Her People

The 1886 biography of Civil Rights icon Harriet Tubman, Harriet, the Moses of Her People, is a highlight of the Archives collection.

Lincoln University Archives and Ethnic Studies Center: Collections and Finding Aids

Collections And Finding Aids