Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lincoln University Archives and Ethnic Studies Center: Home

LU Archives

Welcome to the Lincoln University Archives and Ethnic Studies Libguide

The University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center is located on the third floor of Inman E. Page Library. It serves as the official repository for the historical records and documents of Lincoln University of Missouri. The Archives strives to preserve the University's history while providing access to the materials for users throughout the institution and in the community.  In addition, the Archives promotes cultural awareness by supporting ethnic-related lectures and exhibits, as well as, by displaying archival artifacts and art.The University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center is located on the third floor of Inman E. Page Library. It serves as the official repository for the historical records and documents of Lincoln University of Missouri. The Archives strives to preserve the University's history while providing access to the materials for users throughout the institution and in the community.  In addition, the Archives promotes cultural awareness by supporting ethnic-related lectures and exhibits, as well as, by displaying archival artifacts and art.

What We Do in the Archives

Mission Statement

The Lincoln University Archives /Ethnic Studies Center at Inman E. Page Library has been in operation since 1978, serving the Lincoln Community by providing stewardship to Lincoln’s  heritage.

The mission of the Archives/Ethnic Studies Center is to maintain, preserve and make accessible the holdings and heritage of Lincoln University. In addition, it is the goal the Archives/Ethnic Studies Center to provide educational and cultural programs, presentations and exhibits to promote the history of the institution.

 

Lincoln Authors

        

Inman E Page Library and the Lincoln University Ethnic Studies Center are proud to announce a series of exhibits entitled Lincoln Authors that will celebrate and honor Lincolnites from the past and present who are published writers. Over the years, faculty, staff, and alumni have produced many works of fiction, scientific research, history, and others genres.

The Archives is pleased to showcase these writers and will feature a different LU author periodically. Our current honoree is Lincolnite Dr. Gary Kremer.

The Lincoln Authors exhibit is located on the main floor of Inman E Page Library and is available for viewing during operating hours.

If you have a favorite Lincoln author you would like to see featured please contact The Archives at archives@lincolnu.edu or call 573-681-5514.

Vision Statement

The University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center aspires to be a leading institution in African/Black American research, specifically in the area of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU).

History of the Archives/Ethnic Studies Center

The University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center was established by the University’s Program (Administration and Faculty in 1978 under a grant from the Advanced Institutions Development AIDP) of the United States Office of Education. In 1997, the department’s function expanded to serve as the official repository of the University

Archives/Ethnic Studies Information

Fall and Spring Session Hours
Monday 8am-5pm
Tuesday-Friday     8am-5pm
Saturday     Closed
Sunday     Closed
Summer Session Hours
Monday-Thursday 7:30am-6pm
Friday-Saturday

Closed

Sunday Closed

undefined

 

Staff                

                                                                              

Mark Schleer, University Archivist

phone: 573-681-5510

email:schleerm@lincolnu.edu

 

Ithaca Bryant, Asst. to Archivist

phone: 573-681-5514

email: bryanti@lincolnu.edu

 

Mailing Address

Lincoln University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center
712 Lee Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65101                                                                                                                                                                                      email:archives@lincolnu.edu

Webpage: https://bluetigerportal.lincolnu.edu/web/library/library-services/archives-and-special-collections