Lincoln University Archives and Ethnic Studies Center: Policies and Forms

1. Donations

Gifts to the University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center are deemed donations to be used in the best interest of Lincoln University. Donations become the exclusive property of the University Archives/Ethnic Studies Center

Donation Guidelines

1. Title to Material(s) will pass to the University upon delivery to the University Archives.

2. The Donor gives and assigns to the University all rights of copyright which the Donor has in (a) the Material(s) and in (b) such of his/her works as may be found among any Material(s) received by the University from other sources.

3. The University Archives may grant access to the Material(s) in accordance with its policies.

4. The University Archives may dispose of any items in the donation which it determines are not appropriate or necessary for the holdings of the repository. The University Archives may dispose of any items which it determines to have insufficient enduring value. If in the opinion of the University Archives the Material(s) should be preserved in a different physical format, such as microfilm or digital media, the University Archives may perform the necessary processes and operations.

5. In the event that the Donor may from time to time hereinafter give, donate and convey to the University, for inclusion in the University Archives, additional papers and other historical materials, Title to such additional papers and other historical materials shall pass to the University upon their delivery, and all of the provisions of this instrument of gift shall be applicable to such additional papers and materials.

6. Donations of Books and Periodicals will be processed by the Resource Management Librarian of the Inman E. Page Library

1. Policy

The University Archives is the official depository for all documents possessing enduring historical value generated by or about Lincoln University of Missouri and its subsidiaries. The University Archives serves as the depository for those University-generated materials declared permanent by the State of Missouri.

To meet this end, the University Archives seeks to collect and preserve the following:

• Records listed in the official mandate by the State of Missouri:
• University departmental records, materials or any documentation that depicts the function of a particular department (e.g. Academic Affairs, Farm System, Extension Offices, Band, Office of the President, etc.)
• Professional and personal papers of retired and former faculty, staff and  administrative officers (or next of kin)
• Professional and personal papers and materials of Alumni
• Organizational papers from academic and social organizations whose main focus is Lincoln University of Missouri (fraternities/sororities, S.I.F.E., Wesley Foundation, etc.)

An official Deed to Donation or Transfer of Records must be completed and agreed upon by both the donating party and the University Archivist or designee before the transfer of property to the University Archives.

The University Archives is the only depository for official University-generated materials.

2. Purpose

The University Archives collects and preserves the official records ad those determined to possess enduring historical value to chronicle the University’s history and maintain the University’s accountability as a state-supported public institution.

3. Scope

This policy applies to all University academic or administrative departments and employees, including the Extension offices.

4. Responsibilities

1. The University Archives is responsible for acquiring and preserving the materials placed in its care.
2. The University Archives is responsible for providing access to the collections as appropriate (restrictions may be placed by the donor, University policy or governmental laws).
3. The University Archives shall actively seek and otherwise encourage the donation of professional and personal papers from administrative officers, faculty, staff, Alumni and academic/social organizations.