LibGuides: Copyright, Intellectual Property and Patent Resources for LU: Patents And Trademarks

Online Resources

Copyright vs. Trademark vs. Patent
An article about distinguishing between the types of intellectual property concepts represented by copyright, trademark and patents.
Crash Course on Patents
A quick-course on patents.
DNA Patent Database
This database serves as a resource for members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DPD contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text versions of such patents available at no cost to the public.
Espacenet Patent Search
European Patent Database. Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
FPO: Free Patent Searching
FPO is home to the world's most popular patent search engine – a fast, easy-to-use, and reliable service used by 100's of millions world-wide since 2004
Harvard: Overview of Trademark Law
A FAQ about trademark law.
Inventor's Handbook
A guide from MIT
PDF: 7 step guide to patent search
A PDF demonstrating a process for searching the patent database
US Patent and Trademarks Office
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
USPTO: General information concerning patents
Answers to the question: What Are Patents, Trademarks, Servicemarks, and Copyrights?
USPTO: Missouri State Resources
Patent resources and contacts in Missouri
USPTO: Patent Full-Text Database
A set of patent databases for use by the public.
USPTO: Trademark Basics
A brief introduction to trademarks.
Video: Ask the Expert: Intellectual Property Law Basics
A Los Angeles Patent and Trademark Attorney discusses Intellectual Property Law and the basics of Patent Law and Trademark Law.
Video: Trademark Search: How to do a quick search at the USPTO website
Nolo's intellectual property expert Rich Stim explains how to conduct a quick trademark search at the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) website.
What is a Patent?
Provides detailed information about patents

About Patents and Trademarks

A patent is a temporary government-granted monopoly right on something made by an inventor.

A trademark is a word, phrase, symbol, and/or design that identifies and distinguishes the source of the goods of one party from those of others.

Library Resources

Patent Harmonization by United States, Congress House Committee on the Judiciary Subcommittee on Courts, the Internet, and Intellectual Property Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/1:109-100

ISBN: 0160765609

Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Patents (International law)
Patent laws and legislation -- United States.
Inventors -- Legal status, laws, etc.

Government Document (also has link to e-edition)
Patent Quality Enhancement in the Information-Based Economy by United States, Congress House Committee on the Judiciary Subcommittee on Courts, the Internet, and Intellectual Property Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Y 4.J 89/1:109-99

ISBN: 0160768470

Publication Date: 2006-01-01

United States. Patent and Trademark Office -- Management.
Patent laws and legislation -- United States.
Quality control -- United States.

Government Document
Patent Searching for Librarians and Inventors by Timothy L. Wherry
Call Number: T210 .W44 1995

ISBN: 0838906419

Publication Date: 1995-03-01

Patent searching.

Reference
The Bayh-Dole Act by United States. Congress. House. Committee on Science and Technology (2007). Subcommittee on Technology and Innovation.
Call Number: Y 4.SCI 2:110-46

ISBN: 0160803551

Publication Date: 2007

Patent laws and legislation -- United States.
Research and development contracts, Government -- United States.
Research institutes -- Finance -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Technology transfer -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Patents and government-developed inventions -- United States.
Patents, Government-owned -- United States.
Federal aid to research -- United States.

Government Document
Waiver of patent and trademark requirements in certain emergencies by United States. Congress. House. Report
Call Number: Y 1.1/8:109-408

Publication Date: 2006

Patent laws and legislation -- United States.
Waiver -- United States.
Emergency management -- United States.
Intellectual property -- Government policy -- United States.

Government Document

Copyright, Intellectual Property and Patent Resources for LU: Patents And Trademarks

Online Resources

About Patents and Trademarks

Library Resources

LINCOLN UNIVERSITY

PROUD PAST, PROGRESSIVE FUTURE