The Five Papers
This is the "MLA" page of the "Citations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to creating citations
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lincolnu.edu/citations Print Guide RSS Updates

MLA Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Resources

  • Bedford Martin's Research and Documentation
    In English and other humanities classes, you may be asked to use the MLA (Modern Language Association) system for documenting sources, which is set forth in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (New York: MLA, 2009).
  • Purdue Owl MLA Guide
    MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
  • What is MLA Style
    All fields of research agree on the need to document scholarly borrowings, but documentation conventions vary because of the different needs of scholarly disciplines. MLA style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature. Generally simpler and more concise than other styles, MLA style features brief parenthetical citations in the text keyed to an alphabetical list of works cited that appears at the end of the work.
 

A Quick Guide to MLA Style

The following is a PowerPoint show and should be instantly viewable, though not editable, across platforms.

 

Library Resourcs

Cover Art
The Writer's Harbrace Handbook - Cheryl Glenn; Loretta Gray
ISBN: 9781428230224
Publication Date: 2009-02-04
LU Special PE1408 .W7714 2010 (Check at Reference/Circulation)

THE WRITER'S HARBRACE HANDBOOK is grounded in the belief that an understanding of the rhetorical situation--the writer, reader, message, context, and exigence (reason for writing)--provides the best starting point for effective writing and reading.

 

Basics of Citation

The following covers the basics of MLA style citation. For more in-depth coverage, please choose from the list of online resources or refer to the MLA style handbook.

Book Citation

Author's last name, Author's first name. Title of the Book. Location: Publisher,

Year. Medium of publication.

Chapter, Essay or Part of a Book

Author. "Title of Chapter or Essay." Title of Book or Anthology.

Name of editor of book cited. Publication information.
 
Page numbers of cited essay. Publication medium.

Citing a Journal Article Print

Author's last name, Author's first name. "Title of the Article." Name of

Publication volume.issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication. Print.

Citing a Journal Article Online

Author's last name, Author's first name. "Title of the Article." Name of

Publication volume.issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication.

Name of Database. Web. Day Month Year.

Note: Day month year looks like: 01 Sept. 2012.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip