Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Science Education: Databases

Contains a guide to resources for Social Science Education students.

Google Scholar-Search for Articles

Google Scholar has scholarly articles.  Some of the articles are full-text, others offer only citations.

Google Scholar Search

Historical Databases Online

The following is a list of historical databases available online, free of charge:

DigitalHistory An interactive, multimedia history of the United States from the Revolution to the present.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers™  The definitive newspaper digital archive.

The History Junkie A self described Online Historic Database-entertaining, yet informative.

Progressive Historians A discussion forum that features links to "obscure databases".

The Westminster Historical Database English History

Searching Electronic Resources on Inman E. Page Library’s Website

The Databases

 

•Inman E. Page Library has access to myriad periodical, subscription and non-subscription databases.
–Subscription databases normally contain peer reviewed, full-text articles
–Non-subscription databases may or may not contain peer reviewed, full-text articles, but are seen as useful to the patron
--The best way to determine if a database is one you are needing is to take a moment to preview it. Some databases, such as Ebscohost, are really a collection of databases. Some are single content area databases.
–Single content databases often have clues right in their title. For instance  African American Studies focuses on African American history, biographies and concepts.
 
Where to find the databases
•You can find our online databases from the library website: http://www.lincolnu.edu/web/library/library
 

EbscoHost

Click on 'List of Databases' below to find the link to EbscoHost.  Click on 'EbscoHost' to begin your search for scholarly articles. If you are off campus, you will need to enter your user name and password, when asked, to access the server.   This is the same user name and password needed to access Moodle, WebAdvisor, and Lincoln email.

 

 

(Add / Edit Text 
  
)
 
Social Science & Education Related Databases:
 

A

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives provides access to vast quantities of archived historical information previously available only in microformat, hard copy form or as images. Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture have been assembled into comprehensive databases. These databases allow access to the rich store of materials from leading books, newspapers and periodicals then current.

African American Studies

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides one of the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online which focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

American National Biography

The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the United States of America.

Anthrosource

An online service of the American Anthropological Association, AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline
 
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale
 

E

EbscoHost

EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.

ERIC Documents

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research

          

F

Findlaw

FindLaw's searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: U.S. Reports 150-, 1893-). Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text
 
 

I

In the First Person (Index only)

In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world

 

L

Learning Express Library (MOREnet)

Learning Express Library offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Literature Resource Center pulls together materials from many different print and online sources, including scholarly journals, literary reviews, reference books, authoritative websites, and more.

N

NewsBank (MOREnet)

With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

 

O

OCLC FirstSearch (Index only)

The OCLC FirstSearch service is a comprehensive reference service with a rich collection of databases supporting research in a wide range of subject areas. It includes bibliographic and full-text databases in addition to ready-reference tools such as directories, almanacs and encyclopedias. 

OCLC WorldCat (Index only)

The OCLC FirstSearch service is a comprehensive reference service with a rich collection of databases supporting research in a wide range of subject areas. It includes bibliographic and full-text databases in addition to ready-reference tools such as directories, almanacs and encyclopedias. At the heart of FirstSearch is WorldCat, containing more than 227 million records representing over 1.7 billion holding locations in libraries worldwide. WorldCat adds value to databases in FirstSearch by linking citations to holdings that helps users find these materials in their own libraries and through the WorldCat Resource Sharing service. You can also limit your searches to the collections of your own library or library group.

Online Periodicals

Our list of free Online Periodicals and Abstracts that might also be useful, but may be more popularly based than the reference databases. Note: Some online journals are supported by online advertisements

 

Oxford English Dictionary Online

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

P

PsycArticle by OVID

Search and discover current full-text ejournals and ebooks, as well as bibliographic information, plus manage your results and all of your research documents—all within the  OvidSP platform

W

Westlaw Campus

Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources.

Wilson Education Full Text

WilsonWeb contains many databases on a wide range of subjects.

This version focuses on Education Full Text.

 

Caution: Information is provided as-is. Legal and Medical information should not be construed as advice or diagnosis.

Some links, when accessed off campus, allow content access via your Lincoln University username and password. Use the same username and password as your Lincoln University campus email

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mark Schleer
Contact:
Inman E. Page Library
Archives
712 Lee Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
573-681-5510
Website

Ebscohost Tutorial

The Ebscohost database is available on the Page Library Database Page .