Afro
Afro is an online periodical that includes current trends: politics, lifestyle, money, entertainment, business, opinion, and other topics.
Black Press USA
Black Press USA includes articles from all different areas and topics; it includes African American authors, civil rights activists, scholars, and journalists.
Diverse Education
A national newsweekly that focuses on matters of access and opportunity for all in higher education.
Diversity Inc.
Current events, entertainment, sports, and political news.
EBONY
Online version of the premier magazine for African-American cultural insight, news, and perspective. Ebony discusses and highlights the African-American community with breaking news, trends, advice, entertainment, and critical conversation.
The Hype Magazine
The hype focuses on entertainment and music. It includes interviews, music videos, and current music news.
The Network Journal
The Network Journal is a quarterly print and online business magazine for Black professionals and business owners. Each issue of TNJ also contains articles on technology, health, personal finance, and entertainment.
African American Experience: Primary Source Sets (Digital Public Library of America)
African American Heritage (From the National Archives)
African American History Lecture Series (Stanford/YouTube)
Amistad Research Center (Tulane University)
Black Abolitionist Archive (University of Detroit Mercy)
Black History in Oklahoma (Oklahoma Historical Society)
BlackPast.org (Black Past nonprofit org)
Black Women's Suffrage Archive (DPLA)
Civil Rights History Project (Library of Congress)
Digital Library on American Slavery (University of North Carolina Greensboro)
Digital Schomburg (New York Public Library)
F. B. Eyes Digital Archive (Washington University in St. Louis)
Frederick Douglass Papers (Library of Congress)
National Museum of African American History & Culture (Smithsonian)
Slavery to Liberation: The African American Experience by Joshua Farrington, Norman W. Powell, Gwendolyn
Graham, Lisa Day & Ogechi E. Anyanwu (2019): Encompass Digital Archive.
Gives instructors, students, and general readers a comprehensive and up-to-date account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews in a critical framework. It offers sound interdisciplinary analysis of selected historical and contemporary issues surrounding the origins and manifestations of White supremacy in the United States. By placing race at the center of the work, the book offers significant lessons for understanding the institutional marginalization of Blacks in contemporary America and their historical resistance and perseverance.
OF MISSOURI
Connect with us:
