Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts and Letters Daily
This site is a digest of select articles of interests as picked by the Chronicle of Higher Education. New material is added to Arts & Letters Daily six days a week
The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture.
Black Art in America
Since 2010 their mission has been to document, preserve and promote the African American arts community. BAIA has generated thousands of hours of free original content and educational tools. Conducted member workshops, profiles on artists, collectors and industry professionals as well as produced fine art shows in major markets that were free and open to the public.
Image demonstrates the continued vitality and diversity of contemporary art and literature that engages with the religious traditions of western culture. Now one of the leading literary journals published in English, it is read all over the world—and forms the nexus of a warm and active community.
Check Databases to see what periodicals LU offers online
Getty Search Gateway
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Browse works of art by: Subject, Artist, Works of Art, or region.
Smithsonian American Art Museum: African American Art
SAAM is home to one of the most significant collections of African American art in the world, with more than 2,000 works by more than 200 African American artists.
Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Archives of American Art
From the Smithsonian Institute. "Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America."
Provides access to books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, some at no cost.