Skip to main content

How to Find Articles & Databases: Home

Some tips about searching the electronic resources of Inman E. Page Library

Where Are the Electronic Resources?

Our Electronic Resources or Online Periodical Databases are located on the library website here: Articles & Databases

On the left-hand side of the page, you'll find a list of databases from Academic Search Complete to PsychInfo. On the right, you will find our Periodical subscriptions. The links are embedded into the image and the title of the database or periodical. You can click on either to be taken to the next page.

If you are on campus, it will take you directly to the site. If you are off-campus, you will need to provide the same username and password you use to access Canvas. You may need to contact the IT helpdesk if you do not yet have your username and password and are faculty, staff or a student at Lincoln University. Unfortunately, there is not a guest username and password for community patrons. Anyone wishing to access our databases as a community patron will need to come to Page Library during open hours.

Page Library is located at 712 Lee Drive in Jefferson City, MO. You can call us during work hours at 573-681-5504 if there are any questions or you need assistance.

How to use an electronic resource

Tips

Electronic periodical indexes enable you to access periodical articles by entering search terms, words or phrases that describe your topic.

Most electronic periodical index databases allow you to perform searches that:

  • Combine concepts or keywords using Boolean operators (AND, OR)
  • Limit your search to a specific periodical title
  • Limit your search by a specific range of years
  • Sort, select and mark relevant records
  • Print, email or save (download) the information you retrieve

Keep in mind that some indexes may offer features that others don't, while some may require the use of very specific search methods. It's a good idea to read instructions on the search and help screens when using an electronic index, especially if you're using it for the first time.

Tips for using index databases:

  • Think critically when deciding what database to use. The number of electronic indexes available can be overwhelming.
  • Always ask yourself what discipline or subject area your topic falls under.
  • Electronic periodical indexes are produced by different companies and vendors, just like books and other library resources. Each is designed somewhat differently with its own search methods and unique commands.
  • Many subject areas and disciplines use a highly specialized vocabulary, which becomes a consideration when using subject specific indexes. For example, the subject index PsycINFO for psychology uses official terms assigned by the American Psychological Association (APA).