This is the "Citations" page of the "Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business   Tags: business  

A guide to business research and writing at LU
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lincolnu.edu/business Print Guide RSS Updates

Citations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Basics of Citing

  1. Citation Styles | The three most commonly used citation styles are represented by the following manuals:
     
    The Publication Manual of theAmerican Psychological Association (APA style)
     
    APA style is a format for academic documents such as journal articles and books. It is codified in the style guide of the American Psychological Association, titled the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
     
    The MLAHandbook (MLA style)
     
    MLA style is the style recommended by the Modern Language Association for preparing scholarly manuscripts and student research papers. It concerns itself with the mechanics of writing, such as punctuation, quotation, and documentation of sources.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
     
    The Chicago Manual of Style (Chicago style)
     
    CMOS is a style guide for American English pulished since 1906 by the University of Chicago Press. CMOS deals with aspects of editorial practice, from American English grammar and use to document preparation.
 

Citation Examples

Print Source:


Book (Print):
Gratton, L. (2014). The Key: How Corporations Succeed by Solving the World’s Toughest Problems. New York: McGraw-Hill Education.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Electronic Databases (BU Databases)


Bloomberg (Electronic Database):
Bloomberg L.P. (2014). Historical Price Line Chart for Apple, Inc. 11/1/03 to 11/1/04. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Bloomberg L.P.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MarketLine Company Profile via Business Source Complete:
MarketLine Report. (2014, September 19). Company Profile: Apple Inc. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Business Source Complete database.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mergent Online (SEC/EDGAR filing in BU database):
Apple, Inc. (2013, September 28). Form 10-K. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Mergent Online database.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mintel Reports (Electronic Database):
Mintel. (2014, October). Mobile Apps – US – October 2014. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Mintel Reports database.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MRI+ Mediamark Internet Reporter (Electronic Database):
MRI+ Mediamark Internet Reporter. (2013, Fall Product Report). Fall 2013 Product Apparel/Accessories. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from MRI+ Mediamark Internet Reporter database.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SRDS online (Electronic Database)
SRDS Media Solutions. (n.d.). U.S. News & World Report Profile. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from SRDS Media Solutions database.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Articles from a BU Database:


ABI/Inform Global
Overman, S. (2014). The Culture of Conscience. Leadership Excellence, 31 (10), 49-51.

Information Compiled Courtesy: http://www.bu.edu/library/guide/citations/

Subject Guide

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip