- Academic Video Online: The Better Angels of Our Nature
PBS program addressing the Civil War, Race relations; Military war casualties & Postwar reconstruction. (Available only on campus).
- Academic Video Online: The Secret War: Civil War Spies
History Channel's Civil War Journal presents: The Secret War: Civil War Spies. Civil War (1860–1865). (Available only on campus)
- Academic Video Online: The U.S. Civil War Out West, in The Real West
A&E Video: The Civil War Out West. The conflict, the division, the sacrifice, the truth about what was, ... in the Real West. (Available only on campus)
- Academic Video Online: Universal Newsreels, Release 104, December 28, 1959
Walter Williams who claimed to be the last survivor of the Civil War shown here on his 112th birthday, is dead at the age of 117. His passing symbolically closes a great and tragic era of American history. (Available only on campus)
- Academic Video Online: Universal Newsreels, Release 45, June 4, 1930
UNIVERSAL NEWSPAPER NEWSREEL FADING LINE OF CIVIL WAR "VETS" MARCHES IN MEMORIAL PARADE NEW YORK CITY (Available only on campus)
- African American Odyssey - The Civil War
After Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation, which was effective on January 1, 1863, black soldiers were officially allowed to participate in the war. The Library of Congress holds histories and pictures of most of the regiments of the United States Colored Troops as well as manuscript and published accounts by African American soldiers and their white officers, documenting their participation in the successful Union effort.
- American Battlefield Protection Program
The American Battlefield Protection Program (ABPP) promotes the preservation of significant historic battlefields associated with wars on American soil.
- American Civil War - from the History Channel
In the spring of 1861, decades of simmering tensions between the northern and southern United States over issues including states' rights versus federal authority, westward expansion and slavery exploded into the American Civil War (1861-65).
- Civil War Era Drawings from the Becker Collection
The First Hand: Civil War Era Drawings from the Becker Collection exhibition website
- Civil War in Missouri
By 1860 Missouri was a state in change. In the ten years before the war the original Southern settlers of the state discovered themselves sharing the land with a large contingent of German immigrants. These newcomers were staunchly antislavery. As the country lurched toward war in 1861, newly elected Governor Claiborne F. Jackson led the pro-slavery forces in Missouri. Leading the antislavery group were Congressman Francis P. Blair and General Nathaniel Lyon.
- Civil War In Missouri Facts
Missouri was a keystone in the Union cause. The nation's major western lines of communication and travel were anchored in the state the Pony Express and the California, Oregon and Santa Fe Trails. The three major waterways of the country, the Missouri, Mississippi, and Ohio rivers, either passed through or touched the state.
- Civil War Maps
Civil War Maps brings together materials from three premier collections: the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division, the Virginia Historical Society, and the Library of Virginia.
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War.
- Civil War Women
Online Archival Collections
Rubenstein Library, Duke University
- CWSAC Battle Summaries. National Park Service.
The Missouri Battle Map
- Friend And Foe Alike: The Missouri Civil War Blog
This blog is offered as a service of readers of a new book, A Tour Guide to Missouri’s Civil War: Friend and Foe Alike (Eureka, MO: Monograph Publishing). Readers are encouraged to participate in a dialogue about the unique brand of Civil War that we experienced in Missouri.
- Hidden Patterns of the Civil War
"Hidden Patterns of the Civil War" collects a number of interrelated projects on the sectional crisis, slavery, and emancipation during the Civil War era, with a particular emphasis on the histories of the city of Richmond and the state of Virginia.
- John Brown the Abolitionist and His Legacy
Highlights from John Brown: The Abolitionist and His Legacy, an exhibition of documents and artifacts from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.
- Lincoln and the Emancipation Proclamation
This online exhibition, based on a document booklet of the same title produced in partnership with President Lincoln's Cottage at the Soldiers' Home in Washington DC traces his evolution from antislavery advocate to emancipator through speeches, letters, and acts from the speech at Peoria in 1854 to his second inaugural address in 1865.
- Missouri Civil War Museum
The purpose of the Missouri Civil War Museum is to educate the public of the true aspects and history of the American Civil War and its relevance to the state of Missouri. To obtain, preserve, and display items, artifacts, and documents relating to Missouri and the Civil War in an attempt to correctly interpret this most important and turbulent period in our country’s history.
- Missouri Civil War Sesquicentennial
Missouri’s history during the Civil War was as split as the northern and southern states themselves. Many citizens of the state wanted to side with the North while others were partial to the cause in South. Because of this split, Missouri supplied troops to both the Union and Confederate armies through the entirety of the war. Many battles and skirmishes were fought across our region of the country and Missouri is host to many battlefields, monuments and cemeteries to remember those who fought
- National Geographic Video: A Soldier's Script
Historian James Robertson tells of a young man who lost his arm in the Civil War but went on to win an award for penmanship.
- National Geographic Video: The Cross-Eyed Beast
Historian James Robertson takes on one of the most hated figures of the Civil War — Major General Benjamin Franklin Butler.
- National Geographic Video: The Untold Civil War
Historian James Robertson reveals surprising, little-known aspects of the Civil War in a remarkable human history of the conflict.
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center - Online exhibit of Frederick Douglass’ documents
A website about Frederick Douglass.
- New York Times – Opinionator’s “Disunion” series
One-hundred-and-fifty years ago, Americans went to war with themselves. Disunion revisits and reconsiders America's most perilous period -- using contemporary accounts, diaries, images and historical assessments to follow the Civil War as it unfolded.
- Old State House
An online museum, which focuses on the Civil War
- Selected Civil War Photographs
The Selected Civil War Photographs Collection contains 1,118 photographs. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady, and include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men.
- United States Colored Troops in Missouri: Finding African American History at the Missouri State Archives
During the Civil War, over 8,000 black Missourians served in the Union Army.
- War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Contains the formal reports, both Union and Confederate, of the first seizures of United States property in the Southern States, and of all military operations in the field, with the correspondence, orders, and returns relating specially thereto, and, as proposed is to be accompanied by an Atlas.
- Wikipedia: Missouri Civil War
In the Civil War, Missouri was a border state that sent men, armies, generals, and supplies to both opposing sides, had its star on both flags, had separate governments representing each side, and endured a neighbor-against-neighbor intrastate war within the larger national war.