This is the "Home" page of the "Searching Electronic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Searching Electronic Resources   Tags: beginner, electronic resources, searching  

Some tips about searching the electronic resources of Inman E. Page Library
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lincolnu.edu/content.php?pid=274065 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Discovery Search Tool for Lincoln University

Click on the blue tabs above to  find information on how to find articles and books.  There is also a citation tab to assist with creating citations.  Remember, if you need any assistance, please let us know.  We are all here to aid the learning process!

Also, try out our Discovery Search Tool! You may be surprised at what you find!

 

EBSCOhost

Searching: Discovery Service for Lincoln University

       

Search Everything At Once with ONESearch!

 

Where Are the Electronic Resources?

Our Electronic Resources, or Online Periodical Databases are located here: 

http://www.lincolnu.edu/web/library/electronic-resources

Once you click on that link you will see a new page, which lists out all the databases we currently subscribe to, as well as some free government or health databases. 

 

How to Search Our Electronic Resources Flash PowerPoint

 

Tips

Electronic periodical indexes enable you to access periodical articles by entering search terms, words or phrases that describe your topic.

Most electronic periodical index databases allow you to perform searches that:

  • Combine concepts or keywords using Boolean operators (ANDOR)
  • Limit your search to a specific periodical title
  • Limit your search by a specific range of years
  • Sort, select and mark relevant records
  • Print, email or save (download) the information you retrieve

Keep in mind that some indexes may offer features that others don't, while some may require the use of very specific search methods. It's a good idea to read instructions on the search and help screens when using an electronic index, especially if you're using it for the first time.

Tips for using index databases:

  • Think critically when deciding what database to use. The number of electronic indexes available can be overwhelming.
  • Always ask yourself what discipline or subject area your topic falls under.
  • Electronic periodical indexes are produced by different companies and vendors, just like books and other library resources. Each is designed somewhat differently with its own search methods and unique commands.
  • Many subject areas and disciplines use a highly specialized vocabulary, which becomes a consideration when using subject specific indexes. For example, the subject index PsycINFO for psychology uses official terms assigned by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip