This is the "Electronic Resources" page of the "Searching for Beginners" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Searching for Beginners   Tags: beginner, catalog, searching  

This guide is for those who are visiting LU's Library page for the first time and need help with starting their searches.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.lincolnu.edu/searching Print Guide RSS Updates

Electronic Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to access the Electronic Resources

Welcome to the world of Electornic Resources in Inman E. Page Library.

Here are some steps to finding the electronic resources on the library website. Or you can click on the links to the left in this libguide.

Go to Lincoln University website or just click on the Lincoln University.

There are seven tabs, click on the sixth tab (Library) or just click on the word Library. Once on the main library page, look for the words: Electronic Resources. Click on those words. Choose your database.

OR If you hover your mouse over the word library a drop down menu will appear. this menu also contains the words: Electronic Resources. Click on those words. Choose your database.

 

Choosing the best database for you

The library has several databases to choose from. It can be a bit confusing as to which database will provide the best possible options. However, keep in mind that some of these databases are actually collections of databases themselves. 

For instance Ebscohost is not just one database, but rather several and each database specializes in particular topics ranging from general content to medical, to business and so on. The key is to pick the database closest to your search needs. 

Are you searching for business topics? Then you might choose databases that list themselves as business oriented. You might also choose a communications database and a law database, just to cover your bases. 

Are you searching for health topics? Then you might choose a database related to medical or nursing content. You might also choose a database related to education. 

It helps to think thematically and conceptually about databases. If you know your instructor wants more information about an author, it makes sense to search a literature database. If you know your instructor is interested in networking, it makes sense to search a computing database.

Experiment and find the one that works best for your needs.

 

Cool Tips to remember while searching

1. Remember to start out general and then refine your search.

2. Keep track of keywords that your searches discover. Write them down for later use and try them later.

3. Always send yourself an email of your chosen search results. For instance, if you find the perfect article in Ebscohost, use the email link to send that article to yourself, as well as to select the citation style of your preference. This way you have all the information onlne when you edit your document.

4. Choose full text whenever possible. 

5. Peer Reviewed content is content that has been seen by professionals related to the particular field of study related to your search. Choose peer reviewed whenever possible. 

Katrina's Profile

Profile Image
Katrina Blau
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Inman E. Page library
114 Page Library
712 Lee Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101

573.681.5260
Send Email

Profile

Profile Image
Dr. Rinalda Farrar
Contact Info
Send Email

Introduction to Libraries and Library Science Professions

Profile Image
Jerome Offord
Logo - AIMLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Jerome Offord, Jr.
University Librarian,
Head, Dept. of Library Science, &
Assistant Professor
(573) 681-5501
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Benecia Renee Williams
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Lincoln University
Inman E. Page Library
Media Center
(573) 681-5503
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip